Desperate by Sarah Mae & Sally Clarkson

Ever feel desperate as a mother?  I know I have.  I have feelings of guilt, regret and inadequacy.  I have good intentions, but they are usually met with failure.  I want to be a godly mother in a desperate way and not the dysfunctional mother I see myself as.

Reading Desperate by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson has really helped me see motherhood from a new perspective.  I didn’t get a dose of rigid ways to do things.  Nor, did I get a guilt trip for what I’m not doing.  Instead, I found freedom to be the mother my heart desires and to create the kind of home I want to have.

I’ve found out why my home life is not the way I imagined it to be.  I also found out how to resolve that, including letting go of the expectations of others and looking at what I want for my home and family.   Including God in the mix, of course, is important, but I’ve learned that sometimes what others tell me that God wants for my family is not what God wants for my family.  I need to be the one listening to God directly, rather than listening to others for their opinion of what God wants for us.

There is so much in this book I’d love to share with you, but a review is limited to so many words, so I will leave it up to you to read the book.  The book is written for mothers of younger children.  I have teenagers, whom I feel I have not mothered as well as I could have.  I also have a 2 month old baby, who I hope to raise up in the Lord in a way that will glorify Him.   However, I’m not through raising my teenagers, so I hope to use the authors’ input to redeem the time I do have left with my two older kiddos.

I received this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.

Desperate by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson

About the Book

“I just can’t be a mother today.”

These words have been whispered to God in quiet desperation by mothers who love their children to the depths of their soul, but who are struggling with how hard motherhood is.

Motherhood turns you inside out. Sometimes you feel overwhelmed by how tired you feel; the days go on and on, and you want to be a “good” mom, but you feel like a failure so much of the time. What happened to all your ideals? When did you end up feeling so…lost?

Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson have been to the edge and back. Desperate is the story of one young mother’s trials and one experienced mentor’s priceless exhortations. Desperate is not a book about despair, nor is it a rule-laden mothering manual. It is a bouquet from a friend who has been there, reminding us that we are not alone. Sarah Mae’s unvarnished account of her own struggles mothering three feisty young children is a lesson in learning patience, loving idiosyncrasies, accepting help, and—most of all—leaning on God.

Each chapter includes a brief Bible study with journal exercises to help you find your own quiet center, and get you back into the fray soul-filled and refreshed. Written with candor, empathy, and faith, Desperate is like coffee with a trusted girlfriend; one who knows how hard being a mother can be, and how to navigate the often turbulent road.

2 thoughts on “Desperate by Sarah Mae & Sally Clarkson

  1. Pingback: Desperate Moms | Crossroads Homestead

  2. Pingback: Reminder Desperate Moms Group! | Crossroads Homestead

Tell Me Your Thoughts!

